I’m working on getting better at tech in general atm, I made this video with some software called Movavi, the clips are all from my own copy of Fire Walk With me and some is from Twin Peaks clips. I wanted to try and capture her fear and desperation in a sense. I just cut clips and put them all together with an Angelo Badalamenti composition in the background, I used basic techniques like slowing and speeding up, filters and transitions. I like video as a means of creating a mood, like a moodboard, but mood…video.

I chose to do this quick one about Laura Palmer because I got the Twin Peaks boxset with my Christmas money in January and I went through a heartbreak and hated lots of people and aaaah it was a bad month after all of my bright eyed naivity over New Years. Twin Peaks is like an escape to me now, the original series feels so familiar, the characters and the locations, I feel like it’s my second home. I really do know the ins and outs of it and I’m still wrapping my head around the return but basically I just really love Laura and want to be her friend,,, JESUS she DESERVED SO MUCH BETTER.

She’s such a complex character like she was only 17 years old and she was:

  • Trying to get through high school
  • Running the meals on wheels programme at the RR Diner
  • Tutoring Johnny Horne
  • Teaching Josie English

And if all of that wasn’t enough, she hiding the fact that all of this was happening:

  • Dating James
  • Dating Bobby
  • Dating Harold from meals on wheels (??)
  • Working at One Eyed Jacks
  • Sorting coke deals
  • Being raped by an inter-dimensional demon guy and waiting for him to eventually kill her

All the while she was keeping a diary and seeing Dr. Jacoby in the hopes that it’ll help, spoiler alert: it didn’t.

No wonder she was crying all the time and freaking out??

Well anyway Laura is my favourite character in the Twin Peaks universe, she’s so unbelievably tragic but she makes time for everyone around her and cares about people will all her heart, even though she’s clearly very very mentally unwell and nobody makes much effort in trying help her.

I love u Laura Palmer x

Leave a Reply

