As you are setting your intentions for the fresh moon cycle I’ve sourced a spell called ‘seeds of change’. There are 10 days to go- the new moon comes 23rd July so there’s plenty of time to plan what’s coming next as previous projects culminate.

This new moon is particularly important for me at this time because I have a big plan of change and some big intentions to stick with.

My intentions are:

  • To persevere with sobriety
  • To stay at home and notice the triggers that send me AWOL; avoid them.
  • Show love to my family
  • Have wholesome times with friends
  • Find a nice job to fill the gap between uni.

So I’ve got a lot that I want to achieve and I think that having a physical project to work on as I work on myself and my life will help me to stay in tune with myself as well as grow some flowers/ herbs that I can use in future spells or in the kitchen.


Get an array of seed packets and start a ‘magic garden’ to symbolise the starting of new projects and successful fertility/growth within those projects. On new moon day draw a square in your garden, allotment etc with either a willow stick, oak stick or wand. Mark each corner with a candle…

One orange: for higher intelligence

One green: for creativity and growth

One blue: for serenity and goodness

One white: for purification

As you light each candle chant, either within or aloud ‘Mother Gaia (can be substituted for ‘Earth Mother’, I turn to you to help me to renew. Under this new moon and in this old earth. Blessed be’

GAIA (Gaea) was the goddess of the earth. She was one of the primoridal elemental deities (protogenoi) born at the dawn of creation. Gaia was the great mother of all creation–the heavenly gods were descended from her through her union with Ouranos (Uranus) (Sky), the sea-gods from her union with Pontos (Sea), the Gigantes (Giants)from her mating with Tartaros (the Pit), and mortal creatures born directly from her earthy flesh.’

Poke the seeds under the soil with your hands but give them a tap with whichever stick or wand you have chosen.

After you have done this you may want to sit by your new garden and consider new ventures and/or use this time to let go of things that have come before.

Gently water your new moon garden as needed and stay in tune with your plants as you progress with your projects over this lunar cycle.


Seeds to consider:

Fennel – Strength

Ginger – Strength

Hawthorn – Hope

Heather (white) – Protection; wishes will come true

Laurel – Glory and success

Marsh Marigold – Desire for riches

Mint – Protection from illness; warmth of feeling

Narcissus – Self love

Olive – Peace

Oregano – Joy

Primrose – Confidence

Protea – Courage

Purple Coneflower – Strength and health

Daffodils, daisies and the calla lily represent new beginnings.

I’m the first to admit I don’t know aaanything about gardening right now but a close friend of mine is a gardener for a living so I’m going to find out what is in season and good to plant at this time of year and in what climates. Will update. Blessed be.

*Roses, Lavender, Geraniums, herbs.

One thought on “New Moon gardens.

Leave a Reply

